aerial firefighting ASIA PACIFIC 2018

29 - 30 AUGUST 2018



The INTERNATIONAL AERIAL FIREFIGHTING AWARD (IAFA) is presented annually to recognise a significant contribution by an individual or organisation to international aerial firefighting.


The International Aerial Firefighting Award is named in honour of the the late Walt Darran who was a pioneer and leader in advanced aerial firefighting. We was a highly experienced S2-T  airtanker pilot and former highly-decorated US Navy aviator from California, USA, he was a constant and passionate advocate for safety and improvement in the international aerial firefighting community. The IAFA was first awarded in 2014 in his honour at the Aerial Firefighting Conference in Sacramento, CA, USA.


The Award Committee are now calling for nominations to receive the award for 2017.  The Award will be presented at the Aerial Firefighting Conference Dinner taking place during the Aerial Firefighting Conference taking place from 16-17th October 2017 in Nimes, France. 

The Award Charters currently states that nominations are eligible for:

  • Any person who has made a significant contribution to furthering the safety and/or effectiveness and/or efficiency of aerial firefighting
  • Any organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to furthering the safety and/or effectiveness and/or efficiency of aerial firefighting

Please complete the attached form with your nomination and return to Kate Niven at Tangent Link.  The Award committee will convene after the close of nominations to consider selection.

The nominations and resultant winner are administered by the International Award Committee which is currently made up of an independent international consortium of officially-recognised existing groups involved in aerial firefighting including:

  • The International Fire Aviation Working Group (IFAWG)
  • UN-ISDR Wildland Fire Advisory Group (WFAG) members
  • Associated Aerial Firefighters

Tangent Link has agreed to provide the award’s publicity to the global AFF community.

The closing date for nominations is 31st July 2017